The January Just Posts


Welcome to the latest edition of the Just Posts, a monthly roundtable of posts on topics of social justice hosted here and at Holly’s.

January was tough month. The earthquake in Port-au-Prince was a tragedy of such mind-numbing proportions, and the healing and recovery for Haiti has barely begun. Many of the writers this month’s roundtable have reflected on these events.

January also saw the celebration of Martin Luther King Jr. Day in the United States, an occasion which inspired some happier reflections on progress our society has made.

Slow as it seems, it helps to remember that progress has been made. In my quest for new voices to bring into the Just Posts community, I came across a short post from early February that really stuck with me:

On February 1, 1960, for the first time, black students went to a drugstore, made some purchases, sat down at the lunch counter, and wouldn’t get up. It was the first sit-in.

In six months, that drugstore counter in Greensboro, NC, was desegregated.

(An excerpt from Fifty Years Ago Today By Morganna of UUCIF Social Justice)

Something to think about.

And now, the The January Just Posts:

This month’s posts were nominated by:

If you have a post in the list above, or would just like to support the Just Posts, we invite you to display a button on your blog with a link back here, or to the Just Posts at Cold Spaghetti. If you would like to have a post included next month, you can find out how to submit posts and all sorts of other stuff about the Just Posts at the information page.

We should have more updates soon on our big project to highlight the fantastic Just Posts of 2009. We have gotten 2 independent reviews on all 300 posts, and are working on finalizing our lists of finalists. (Hmmm…our final lists of finalists…) Thanks so much to all of you who have participated in this project! We couldn’t do it without you.

18 thoughts on “The January Just Posts

  1. Another great group of posts. Some I have read and given a lot of thoughts to; some more new ones to explore. Thank you for keeping this feature running!

    P.s. I hope this didn’t come across as self-serving… I am truly surprised and honored.

  2. I was not aware of this site before and I’m open-mouthed and honored at finding myself included. This is very, very special to me.

    So… I will be spending the next several hours reading these thoughtful blogs. You have opened a new world to me. My new favorite bookmark. THANK YOU!

  3. Glad you’re still doing these…

    Also, thanks for popping by – the baby mullet is hilarious. Pumpkinpie sporte done for AGES, but The Bun arrived with amazing hair and never lost any. My kids get teeth way late, though, and he is even later than she was. Funny how they really are all different.

  4. Wow! I never knew such an awesome blog existed, but me and the other writers at PR Unfriendly are extremely honored to be included in your listing. You are more than welcome to write for us as well whenever you’d like =)

    I can’t thank you enough!

Leave a comment