The March Just Posts


buttonmar2009

Here we are, finally arriving at the March Just Posts. Holly and I are pleased as ever to offer to you this selection of posts from around the blogosphere that all seek make a difference in our world.

Continuing in my newly minted tradition of highlighting protest songs, this month I offer to you “Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee,” written by Buffy Sainte-Marie. The Indigo Girls cover of the song is one of my favorite songs, both for the messages it contains in the lyrics, and for its musical qualities. It’s an angry song, with a strong beat, and yet at the same time beautifully melodic. It’s one of those songs that I have to sing along with.

The lyrics tell of injustices being committed against Native American society even in recent days, crimes committed out of ignorance, arrogance and greed:

They got these energy companies that want the land
and they’ve got churches by the dozen
who want to guide our hands
and sign Mother Earth over to pollution, war and greed

One of the messages the song drives home to me is the reminder of the biases rampant in most of the versions of history that we are fed. (…our history gets written in a liar’s scrawl…) (I am also frequently reminded that I should finish reading the book by Dee Brown, also entitled Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee.)

Below is the Indigo Girls version of the song, which I know best. I also recommend listening to the version by Buffy Sainte-Marie herself, also on YouTube.

And now, for the March Just Posts.

This month’s readers:

Thank you for reading! Make sure to stop by to see what Holly of Cold Spaghetti has to say.

If you have a post above, or would just like to support the Just Posts, we invite you to display a button on your blog with a link back here, or to the Just Posts at Cold Spaghetti. If you are unfamiliar with the Just Posts, please visit the information page.
buttonmar2009-100px

buttonmar2009-120px

8 thoughts on “The March Just Posts

  1. Buffy Sainte-Marie is a singer-songwriter activist goddess. She’s also responsible for The Universal Soldier. Sadly, she also gave the world Love Lifts Us Up Where We Belong. Sigh.

    Cool that I’m on the list.

  2. I am so glad you and Holly are continuing this. It really makes a difference to me, adding another, very meaningful level to my blogging and real life. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a comment