thankful (PhotoHunt)


hugging_raggedy_ann
Phoebe is thankful for the dolly sent to her by her Grammy.

I really struggle with the more abstract themes for PhotoHunt. This week’s is “thankful.”

It’s not that there’s not much that I’m thankful for. If anything, there is too much.

I am thankful for my family and friends, of course. My health, my job, and my many comforts. I am thankful for the little daily pleasures, like watching my daughter learn and grow and play with her toys.

But there’s a much bigger list, too.

I am thankful that I have a home, and can afford to keep it warm.
I am thankful that I have access to good healthcare for myself and my family.
I am thankful that I’ve had a good education, and will be able to ensure the same for my children.
I am thankful that I can afford nutritious food and that I have ready access clean drinking water.

I am also humbled to know that all of these things put me in a privileged minority in the world, and that far too many people go without. Even in this and other wealthy countries.

All of this is a not-so-subtle opening for me to mention that the Just Posts are coming up again. If you have come across, or yourself written, posts in the month of February that address issues of social justice, please submit them for the monthly roundtable. To have posts included in the March 10th edition, which will be here and over at Holly’s, please send your posts by Friday, March 7th. (For more details, check out the Just Posts info page.)

For more (and probably generally less sanctimonious) entries for the theme PhotoHunt of “thankful,” pay a visit to tnchick.

7 thoughts on “thankful (PhotoHunt)

  1. We trully be thankful to god he provide us something that we can afford inspite of this economy crisis we face now. God bless us.

  2. Like I mentioned on another Photo Hunter’s blog, this week’s theme seemed easier to write about than find photos to capture. At the same time, I’m glad we had it assigned as it does get you thinking and realizing how much we do have to be thankful for in our lives.

Leave a comment