Can’t see the thicket for the trees.


This week’s friday foto finder theme is “thicket.” While I have some idea of the meaning of the word, I can’t say it’s one that is frequent use for me. I was a bit stumped about what to post. I even went so far as to look up the definition of the word on Dictionary. com: “a thick or dense growth of shrubs, bushes, or small trees.” Living in the woods as I do, I can’t say I particularly would tend to notice the dense growth of small trees, largely because the landscape is so dominated by tall trees. And most of the shrubs and bushes I see around here are either undergrowth, or used in somewhat sparingly in landscaping. I’m sure there are thickets to be found in Massachusetts, but I don’t seem to have photographed them…

This photo was taken a couple of summers ago at our town park. At least I think it was at the park. It could have been any number of places in the area that are dominated by tall trees.

On the other hand, I did find a couple of photos from the Irish countryside with clumps of shrubs and small trees that are more suggestive of thickets.

I think the rows and clumps of tall bushes and small trees could reasonably be called thickets. What do you think?

To see what are thickets are to be found, pay a visit to the fff blog.

3 responses to “Can’t see the thicket for the trees.

  1. Some nice vegetation there. Good thickets – those Irish ones are delightful. Living in a forest you would not see the trees for the – – – – Perhaps i should leave that there *evil grin*

  2. Now I just want to say “thicket” a hundred times.

  3. I think that is among the so much vital info for me.
    And i am satisfied reading your article. However wanna observation on few basic
    issues, The web site style is perfect, the articles is truly nice
    : D. Just right activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

