A few shy of a parliament (friday foto finder: rook)


This week’s friday foto finder theme is “rook,” which gives me the excuse to post these photos of this little guy I met in Howth, Ireland back in May. After pecking around on the ground scavenging for crumbs from my snack of oatcake, this rook hopped up on a railing and posed for a few photos.

I was not entirely sure that this bird was a rook, and not some other type of crow, but according to the Wiki entry for rook, he seems to fit the bill:

Rooks are distinguished from similar members of the crow family by the bare grey-white skin around the base of the adult’s bill in front of the eyes.

This one does indeed have that telltale gray skin about the beak.

In my research, if skimming through a Wikipedia page counts as such, I also came across this tidbit:

Collective nouns for rooks include building, parliament, clamour and storytelling.

Such a lovely bit of information to come across. I had certainly heard of a murder of crows, and would have guessed that a collection of rooks might be similarly called a murder. In a delightful coincidence, my friend at Mouse-traps and the Moon shared a post today as part of a series on beautiful books about collective nouns:

…four collections of visually witty takes on those delightful and often improbable collective nouns for animal groupings: A Drove of Bullocks (animals) A Filth of Starlings(birds), A Shiver of Sharks (sea life) and A Crackle of Crickets (insects).

Clearly, there are many more collective nouns out there for me to learn!

To see what other types of rooks have been sited, and maybe even a whole clamour or storytelling of them, flock over to the fff blog.

3 responses to “A few shy of a parliament (friday foto finder: rook)

  1. Pingback: a scurry of squirrels | collecting tokens

  2. I love all the collective nouns and have heard of a “Parliament of Rooks” although I had never seen one photographed. I had assumed they were just black like crows. Thank you for some delightful images from that publicity seeking member of parliament :)

  3. Ooh, I’ve never seen a rook before. These are great photos! In that last one, he looks like he is speechifying, so I think a Parliament of Rooks is clearly the best choice of collective noun. :)

Leave a Reply

