substantially insubstantial


30 days and 30 posts in, this month has flown by. Unlike in years past, I found it quite easy to post daily. The reason for this was likely that, beyond the act of daily posting, I had no particular goals for NaBloPoMo this year. The downside to this comparative ease is that I don’t much feel like I posted much of substance. I was happy to post a number of photo sets that I had been saving in my digital hoard, and I had a few things to say here and there with more words, but I didn’t find myself sharing more of the stories that have been buzzing around in my head that first prompted me to start a blog in the first place. Those stories take time, and time isn’t something I’ve had in abundance this month. In spite of this lightness of post content, though, I still feel fairly satisfied. Having the daily creative outlet, and this commitment to doing something daily that is purely for my own enjoyment, has actually been more satisfying than I might have expected. I am sorely tempted to continue in this commitment to daily blogging–if not actually putting up a post every day, at least spending a bit of time each day working on a post.

This was a photo I took on November 30, 2010, taken during my participation in Project 365, a commitment to taking photographs daily.

2 responses to “substantially insubstantial

  1. I got behind on reading your posts, so I’m just seeing this now, but (1) I love that photo and (2) I’ve enjoyed your posts, substantial or not.

  2. My view (when I can remember that I have this view, which doesn’t always happen when I’m self-flagellating) is that while substantial is ideal, insubstantial but consistent is still worthy, and even insubstantial and inconsistent are still better than nothing! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

