sporting a feathery crown (friday foto finder: crane)


The African crowned cranes at my local zoo are remarkably photogenic. They were quite cooperative posing for me earlier this year, showing off their striking crowns of feathers.


Striking a pose.


Craning to look at me?


Bending over for a drink.


Showing off its height and wingspan.


Enjoying the mid-day sun. (This photo was taken a few years before the others, which were from earlier this year. I notice that this crane has darker neck feathers, and a smaller crown. I wonder whether this is a black crowned crane, and the photos above of a gray crowned crane.)

Friday’s friday foto finder challenge was to share a photo of a crane While my first interpretation of this polysemous word was of the bird, I was almost certain that I wouldn’t have any photos of this sort of crane in my archives. I knew, however, that I had loads of photos of construction cranes and shipping cargo cranes. But a bit of poking back through my old photos triggered some memories of a variety of cranes I had encountered.

To see what cranes others found, pay a visit to the fff blog.

5 thoughts on “sporting a feathery crown (friday foto finder: crane)

  1. Photogenic cranes indeed!
    We have a giant yellow crane doing construction across the street from my office, but I like your cranes better. (It’s a close call. Yellow is my favorite color, so I like the big crane, but it doesn’t have this fancy plumage, so…) (I’m fascinated by the construction, though the demolition was maybe even better.)

Leave a comment