trailblazing


At some point last school year, I started going on morning walks with a neighbor whose kids get on the school bus with Phoebe. We have a couple of standard routes, depending on how much time we have to walk. What with busy schedules and sometimes uncooperative weather, we haven’t gotten too many walks in this winter. We did this morning, and without any planning, we headed a bit off our typical routes. We walked down a couple of neighboring streets, and when we got to the signs marking the town conservation lands, we were inspired to wander up the trail. Our morning walk turned into a bit of a hike, and an exploration. At some point, the trail ended, and we kept going, heading through the woods in the general direction of our road. With no snow on the ground, and with the undergrowth in its rather sparse wintery state, the going was pretty easy. I We did end up crossing a few creeks a few times, using stones and, in one case, a fallen tree.


A little pond, frozen over and dusted with snow.


One of the streams. We didn’t cross on this fallen tree.


Close-up of the ice in the stream.


I was quite taken with these mushrooms.


Here are those same mushrooms, looking straight on.

fuzzy-mushrooms
See how fuzzy they are? (This is a zoomed in crop of the mushrooms. A ‘shroom zoom, as it were.)


I think this tree was flashing us.


You can see here how this stream was pretty easy to cross, via that little dam of rocks.


More ice.


I like ice.


A fallen tree, whose roots have been worn away, leaving a bit of a star shape.


Stump fungi. You can see here that there is a bit of fresh snow here. The big, fluffy flakes were just wafting down lazily, adding to the ambiance.


The ruffles of this fungus remind me of a flamenco dancer’s dress.

It’s so funny to realize that this place has been around the corner the whole time I’ve lived in this town, yet this was the first time I’d ventured in these past 13 years. I hope to head back in, and bring my real camera. (Not shown are the varied shots where I didn’t quite get the focus.) I was glad I had my phone with me, though, as it not only let me take the photos, but helped us decide our path a couple of times. (It felt a bit like cheating to use my phone’s GPS, but this was supposed to be a quick morning walk before starting work, not an all-day exploration.)

7 responses to “trailblazing

  1. Alejna, this sounds like such a great little adventure, and I love your photos! Especially the shroom zoom and the ice. But as usual, all of them. :) I’m glad you got some active, outdoorsy time today. How long did the hike turn out to be? (in time, not distance, which is probably harder to measure)

  2. i’d like to see the world through your eyes.

  3. Our property backs up to a national park, and I can walk out my back yard and catch a trail. It was one of the major selling features for this house, and like you, I love to walk with my camera and photograph all the natural wonders in plain sight.

  4. Oh my gosh! What a wonderful morning adventure. Love the ‘shroom zoom photos. Every time you take photos with that iPhone of yours I get one step closer to buying one. The convenience of it charms me.

  5. I love this, you and I REALLY do take the same kinds of photos. :)

  6. Great photos – It’s a total challenge, taking good, different shots of woodland. But you have done it really well. Love your photo posts.

  7. Love it!! That’s the best — finding new corners to explore. I’m charmed by the snowy/icy fungi, that cascade of shroomy ruffles, and the exhibitionist tree. ;)

Leave a Reply

