portrait of the artist’s mother on the occasion of her 40th birthday, as drawn on a paper diner placemat



“Mommy,” as drawn by Theo, age 2 and 3/4, on June 9, 2011. Ink on paper placemat. Private collection.

19 responses to “portrait of the artist’s mother on the occasion of her 40th birthday, as drawn on a paper diner placemat

  1. Happy 40th birthday, Alejna. Hope you don’t find turning 40 traumatic — strange as it may seem, I didn’t. Rather, turning 21 and 30 upset me more!!

    Re Theo’s artwork: What is that protuberance coming out of the figure (of you)’s head? Did you have a hat or something on? :b

    • Thanks, Y! I haven’t so much been traumatized by turning 40 as I have become increasingly aware that I am no longer in my 20s. (I’m sorry if that sentence doesn’t make sense. I should get to bed.)

      As for the picture, the protuberance is anyone’s guess.

  2. Great art, great caption!

  3. Fabulous! from the artist’s grandmama.

  4. Love it! Happy 40th birthday, Alejna. We’ll be the same age for 10 days, till I hit 41.

  5. I.. actually like this a lot. Although I can’t quite figure out which way is up? Are you lying down? With a yam in your ear? (I mean, why *wouldn’t* you be?)

    • I like it, too. Theo has really only just starting representational art that is in anyway identifiable, so I was actually quite impressed. I can’t quite make sense of which end is up (maybe there are mulitple possibilities), but I can see that it’s a person. As for my pose, in the diner I was neither lying down, nor had a yam in my ear. However, Theo may have decided to use his artistic license.

  6. Happy birthday!!! That is a really wonderful picture. : )

  7. The word WEIRD springs to mind, in capital letters…

  8. Happy belated birthday!

  9. personal art is such a gift.

    as are you. happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

