I’ve said it before…


The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.
The address field autofill on my email application is not my friend.

Have I mentioned that the autofill on my email application is not my friend?

Oh right. I have.

And remember how I said I was loving the WordPress “post by email” function? Well, I’m not so much loving it now. Because I accidentally cc’d that address on an email.

So the email became a post.

And even though I put the post in the “trash” within a minute or so of actually posting it, and cleared it off my front page, I discovered that feedburner apparently still pulls such posts from the the “trash” unless you have also “emptied” the trash. WTF, WordPress? “Trash” means pull from the front page, but still make accessible to feedburner?

So, if you find a rather cryptic post (or another cryptic post) in your feed from me, please ignore it.

You know, I really hate making mistakes. And I really really hate making mistakes that get broadcast.

I guess I should be relieved that the email I posted wasn’t personally damning.

9 responses to “I’ve said it before…

  1. You don’t make this mistake very often, but of course once is too often since you never know when it will be a bad one. (plus, like you, I’m always embarrassed when a communication goes beyond the intended audience, even if it’s just something like “Nice day, isn’t it”) Is there a setting on your email which will force you to verify that you want to send the message?

  2. sounds like a tattoo is in order

  3. Maybe everyone will think you’re being avant garde…

  4. oh, those little electronic embarrassments we must endure these days…

  5. Not to make you even more paranoid: If a person subscribes (so they receive emails) then they will get your post in the email. There is not UNDO button for that… Sorry, m’lady…

    Now I cannot wait to get some of these error posts. LOL. ;-)

  6. Pingback: a totally private email to WordPress about “post by email” « collecting tokens

  7. Feedburner does not pull posts from the trash, though sometimes it may seem to. That’s because Feedburner only checks your blog every so often, so there can be a delay between what you do on your blog and what Feedburner shows.

    Here’s what may have happened to you:

    1. You publish that accidental post.
    2. Feedburner checks your blog and sees that accidental post.
    3. You move that post to the trash.
    4. Feedburner does not get around to checking your blog yet, so it still thinks that post is on your front page.
    5. You permanently delete the post.
    6. Feedburner finally gets around to looking at your blog again and sees that the accidental post is not there.

    The feed WordPress provides doesn’t suffer the same delay: https://collectingtokens.wordpress.com/feed/

  8. OMG! I would die! Not because it was anything private or a big deal…but I just get really worked up over things like that. I’ve prematurely sent emails I was halfway through writing, by some horrific series of mistaken keystrokes, and even that freaks me out because I haven’t proofread that first half and there is no way to take it back once it is sent. GAH!

Leave a Reply

