hellfire and dalmatian


igp3763
Hellfire and dalmatian.

As I mentioned, Phoebe wanted to be a firefighter for Halloween this year. Her costume turned out to be a cinch. She’d gotten a freebie fire hat at a recent daycare field trip to the firestation, and then our daycare provider had some other firefighter costume gear to lend us. A totally free costume.

Seeing as he doesn’t yet have a say in the matter, I figured I would dress Theo to go along with Phoebe’s firefighter. (As you may have noticed, I’m all about going with themes.) At first, I thought, “Theo can be a fire!” As I thought about the costume, however, I realized that there was a good chance that he would end up looking like a baby on fire. Um…perhaps a tad more disturbing than I had in mind.

So, the plan was to go with a dalmatian (the traditional firehouse dog).

For the pre-Halloween party on Tuesday, I hadn’t managed to get a dalmatian costume together. Theo went as a (very cute, and still black and white spotted) cow, instead. On Wednesday, I stopped by a used children’s store (where they sell used things for children, not actual used children). I had plans to get some white clothes, a white hoodie if possible, to which I would affix black spots, a tail, and some ears.

As it happened, the store had a rack of Halloween costumes. Which were additionally marked down. And there was a dalmatian costume. In Theo’s size. For $4.00. Suddenly, the whole home-made costume idea seemed like it would be a big ordeal.

Apparently, though, I still had a hankering for assembling a Halloween costume, because I decided to put together a costume for myself. I would be the fire to go along with the theme. I wore a red shirt layered over an orange shirt, along with an orange and red swirly-patterned shawl that I happened to have picked up for 1 euro at a Sevilla flea market. I fashioned a hat out of fleece left over from Theo’s carrot costume from last year, and attached flames of red and orange tissue paper to it with staples. (I was in a hurry. I made the hat this afternoon while Theo napped.)

I was quite pleased with the end result, especially considering that I bought nothing new to make my costume.

Of course, wearing this hat around our neighborhood reminded me of something: the fact that I have no dignity.

John, on the other hand, has some. He totally ignored my suggestion of a costume for him. Because you know what would have gone really well with both the firefighter and the dog costumes? A fire hydrant.

igp3709

igp3771

igp3811 pb015023

igp3795

22 responses to “hellfire and dalmatian

  1. So totally excellent!! I love you and your flaming self.

    Your line, “I stopped by a used children’s store (where they sell used things for children, not actual used children)” reminded me of a store we used to drive past on the way to my grandmother’s house when I was a kid: The Children’s Exchange. My brother and I used to tell my sister that was the store where we’d found her … and, of course, that we could bring her back if she wasn’t working out for us.

    Isn’t it fun to have siblings?

    Happy Halloween!

  2. Wow! I love all the costumes, as well as the accompanying puns, but I feel compelled to point out that Halloween is not about dignity.
    (That said, I can understand your husband’s refusal to dress as a fire hydrant!)
    In any case, I love your fire costume. It’s creative and original, it fits in with the theme, and it actually turned out beautifully.

  3. Awesome set of costumes. And perfect post title. And tell John that he’s a spoilsport.

  4. That is awesome. The whole thing.

  5. Dignity is overrated. That costume rawks!

    But why is your jack-o-lantern so very sad?

  6. Flaming alejna!

    Cute kids too…

  7. $4 dalmation costume? you’d have been stupid to buy stuff and make your own – it would have cost you that, anyways! plus your time! your costume is AWESOME and your shawl? Um, next time you’re in Sevilla would you pick me one up, too? ;) gorgeous.

    great pictures

  8. Found you on Ashley’s blog and in the NaBlo spirit, I’m blog exploring. Your kiddos are TOO cute! Great job with the costumes. Very clever! :)

  9. Love the pun, the costumes, and your hat, for sure! I love Halloween posts …

    In other news, I just caught up on your ‘Money Momentum’ post, and figured I should tell you that I have BEEN on the Kids in the Hall. And also been hit by lightning.

    Also doing NaBloPoMo. We can do it!

  10. LOVELY costume! there’s dignity aplenty in being fantastic!

  11. You really worked the theme! Great costumes, and I love the photos.

    I’ve decided to give NaBlo a go, too. It is a tad daunting, though.

  12. the BEST costumes! i’m in awe!

  13. “Um…perhaps a tad more disturbing than I had in mind. ” – LOL. LMAO.

    Everyone looked awesome! It ALWAYS pays to go with a theme. :o)

  14. Go you! Very clever.

  15. I am still laughing at the idea of John being a fire hydrant with Theo as dalmatian. It could have been an active situation. Your title of hell fire and dalmatian is soooooo clever. You know I love titles.
    The trio of you was the best ever combination. I nominate you for the academy of Goblins award highest award.

  16. Remember that some days you’re the fire hydrant, and some days you’re the dog.

    Awesome hat, and awesome photography!

  17. Great costumes and theme! I love your fire.

  18. Oh my God that last pic!

  19. Pingback: NaBloPoMoFaSoLaTiDo « collecting tokens

  20. Pingback: the ghosts of Halloween costumes past | collecting tokens

Leave a Reply

