mmmm…blogging


I am declaring May to be the Merry Merry Month of Metablogging.

Over the past few months, I’ve seen a change coming over the blogosphere. Bloggers are dropping out, frittering away. (Or perhaps just twittering away.) For many, the excitement over blogging has died down.
mmmm
But I still really love blogging. For a couch potato with many interests like me, it’s the ultimate hobby. It’s been more than a hobby, though. It’s been a way of making connections with people, continuing conversations and expanding my horizons.

I know some people find blogging to be the most boring topic for blogging that there is. I’m not one of them. I’ve been quite fascinated by just about all topics bloggy. I like the blogging about the blogging. (I also like to use the word blogging.)

Whereas I know I really need to buckle down and get cracking with my work, I really want to get this out of my system. There have been loads of posts that I’ve wanted to write, but haven’t had the time. (Or when I find the time, I lack the focus and energy.) But the metablogging topics have continued to weigh on my mind.

For instance, I’ve wanted to share my take on, and my experiences with, these aspects of blogging:

  • blogroll and linking
  • commenting and discussion
  • identity and image
  • design and themes
  • categories and tags
  • traffic and readership
  • memes and group projects
  • popularity and rankings
  • personal disclosure

Here are some of the questions I’ve also been thinking about:

  • Why did you get started in blogging?
  • What do you get out of blogging, and what do you want to get out of it?
  • What advice would you give to a new blogger?
  • What will be the future of pants posts?

Anyhow, my plan is to cover each of these topics (as many as I can get to) in a series of posts this month.

I’d really love it if other people would like to join in the conversation. If you have posts on blogging that you’d like to share (whether new or from your archives), let me know, and I’ll link them up.

In other news, the April Just Posts are coming up. If you’ve read or written posts on a topic pertaining to social justice, please send your nominations to me or Holly. Want to learn more? Check out the Just Posts info page.

14 responses to “mmmm…blogging

  1. advice to a new blogger:

    Log off. Step away from the computer.

  2. I LOVE metablogging! Go for it!

  3. What fun! I am sure to read every single post. BTW, I wrote an EPIC series on meta-parenting blogging a couple of years ago. It’s a tad dated now (as in my over the top zeal and engagement has mellowed) but I still think it’s one of the better things I’ve written. It’s hideously long, though, so I’ll understand if you don’t take on reading it:
    http://madhattermommy.blogspot.com/search/label/Bloggy%20thinkfest

  4. this is going to be a very awesome month over here at CT. i can’t wait. if i can participate in some way, let me know. i can or cannot wear pants.

  5. Interesting topic – I enjoy reading blogs and have only recently started blogging (primarily to keep in touch with family and friends overseas). It would be interesting to do a bit more thinking about what it is I’m actually doing with it. I look forward to your topics. :)

  6. Love this idea. I was just reminiscing about the days of metablogging.

  7. Read this the other day and have been thinking about how to join in. Will be back …

  8. I was thinking the same thing…that lots of bloggers I know, including myself, are frittering away. “m not sure what it is, I still really like doing it, I just never do. Looking forward to seeing your take…=)

  9. Pingback: where was i? | finding atman

  10. Pingback: mmmm: on the blogroll « collecting tokens

  11. Pingback: mmmm-hmm? « collecting tokens

  12. Pingback: mmmm: some comments on commenting « collecting tokens

  13. Pingback: off the top of my head « collecting tokens

Leave a Reply

