excuses, excuses (ad nauseam)


Dear Blogosphere,

Please excuse Alejna’s continued absence from posting and visiting and other blog-related activities. She has been recovering from a blechy stomach virus, which has been making her feel really icky since Wednesday night. She has also been tending to a very sick sweet Phoebe, who was hit even harder by the nasty bug. Also to a teething Theo, who thankfully seems not to be overly affected by the virus.

Alejna hopes to return to her regular blog attendance in the next couple of days, and hopes she can be allowed to turn in any missed assignments at that time.

Sincerely,

Alejna’s Largely Neglected Laptop

So much for jumping right back into blogging.

I was feeling really great Wednesday morning, if just starting to deal with the the 3-hour time difference. I took Phoebe late to daycare, ran some errands with Theo, then came home. At which point I noticed that the contractor we’ve been working with installed a different door on our deck than the one we discussed. (Have I mentioned we’ve been dealing with home repais?) Then I tried to do a little work, trying to hold on to my recent productivity, and encountered a big setback in my research. So I turned to the internet for solace, and skimmed through friends’ recent status updates on Facebook. And saw that azahar, who had been told she was clear of any signs of cancer, now has evidence of two new tumors. Fuck.

These various things, combined with jetlag, left me feeling drained, and then queasy with worry for the evening. Or at least I thought it was the anxiety causing the queasiness. The 101 fever seemed a bit much. And then when my anxiety caused Phoebe to start vomiting, I realized that there was probably something else going on, too.

John was up with Phoebe just about all night. Theo was also quite fussy, though that may have just been teething. (His first tooth broke through Thursday night.) Phoebe was sicker than we’ve ever seen her on Thursday, and recovery’s been pretty slow. I’ve had a much milder version of whatever it is, but I haven’t managed to eat normal food until today. It’s been largely impossible for me to get in the sort of calories I need to keep up with Theo’s feeding.

We’re glad this didn’t hit us while we were on the trip. And relieved that John has (at least so far) seemed to have missed it. (I don’t know how single parents manage sometimes.) John has some important work deadlines he’s got to keep working towards, too.

We largely gave up on trying to adjust to the time zone, so we are still on West Coast time. Sleep, whenever we could get it, seemed more important than paying attention to the clocks.

I’m still feeling pretty icky, but am clearly on the mend. Phoebe’s mostly better, but is now afraid both of sleeping in her own bed, and of vomiting. Theo is still teething, and may have a second tooth about to pop through.

I haven’t really managed to get online much, so I’m sorry for my continued neglect. Thanks so much for your comments on my last post, and thanks to anyone else who is still reading for standing by.

I’ll be back for real. Sometime. Soon, I hope.

p.s. The March Just Posts are just around the corner, and they need you! Have you read posts this month that moved you or made you think about topics of relating to social justice? Have you written one? There’s still time. For more info, check out the info page.

p.p.s. Just to add to my general crankiness, I am informed that my post title contained a spelling error, so I have fixed it.

12 responses to “excuses, excuses (ad nauseam)

  1. oh. i hope everyone is well soon!

  2. Um … AM not UM -nauseAm. 1st declension, accusative.

  3. Sending healing thoughts!

  4. I hope you feel better soon….

  5. Painted-
    thanks

    Cecilieaux-
    I am touched by your concern.

    Holly-
    Thanks.

    magpie-
    getting there already, thanks.

  6. So sorry you and Phoebe are sick. Hope you’re both feeling perfectly well sooner than soon.

    (1st declension? accusative? So when I’m at a loss for words and I’m just saying “um” should I really be saying “am“? Does anyone care?)

  7. With two small children and your work, I’m surprised you can find time to blog at all!

    Hope everyone feels better soon :)

  8. Hang in there; I hope you are all better very soon. Sending virtual chicken soup and all that.

  9. Oh … ugh. Sounds really like a nasty time. Get well soon …

  10. Glad you didn’t manage to turn yourself inside out!

    The last time I posted, bubble skirts were in fashion, so your blog is as regular as Metamucil as far as I’m concerned.

  11. I hope you are all better soon.

    And poor Phoebe! It is so sad when they draw those conclusions. I’ve tried in vain to get KayTar to agree to another trip to see the butterflies, but after her episode, she believe it will make her sick again.

  12. p.p.p.s. – PANTS!

    There. All’s forgiven. :o)

Leave a Reply

