making my list, checking it twice


I saw this meme over at azahar’s, and found myself going over the list without really meaning to. It’s clearly related to a list that was going around last year, which I posted. There’s a fair amount of overlap. But what the hey, it’s different enough.

Things I’ve done are in bold. Things I’d like to do have a star*. I threw in an extra star for things that I really, really would like to do at some point. (And my assorted comments are in parentheses.)

1. Started my own blog (Duh.)
2. Slept under the stars
3. Played in a band* (I was in a high school orchestra for a couple of months, but didn’t really play anywhere.)
4. Visited Hawaii (Lived there, even.)
5. Watched a meteor shower*
6. Given more than I can afford to charity
7. Been to Disneyland/world (Not since I was about 4 or 5.)
8. Climbed a mountain (A small one.)
9. Held a praying mantis (Am I missing something here?)
10. Sung a solo* (But I might in a couple of days!)
11. Bungee jumped
12. Visited Paris
13. Watched lightening at sea (Maybe I have done this. I don’t recall.)
14. Taught myself an art from scratch
15. Adopted a child*
16. Had food poisoning (Probably. Not of the stomach-pumping variety, but bad enough to knock me down for a couple of days.)
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty*
18. Grown my own vegetables
19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France
20. Slept on an overnight train
21. Had a pillow fight
22. Hitchhiked
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill
24. Built a snow fort
25. Held a lamb
26. Gone skinny dipping
27. Run a Marathon
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice
29. Seen a total eclipse*
30. Watched a sunrise or sunset
31. Hit a home run
32. Been on a cruise
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person* (But I have seen Iguassu Falls.)
34. Visited the birthplace of my ancestors*
35. Seen an Amish community
36. Taught myself a new language
37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied (I don’t like the assumption here that lack of money is what keeps most people from being truly satisfied.)
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person
39. Gone rock climbing
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David* (I possibly have. I visited museums in Florence. I know I should remember, but I don’t.)
41. Sung karaoke (In Japan, even!)
42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt*
43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant
44. Visited Africa**
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight
46. Been transported in an ambulance
47. Had my portrait painted
48. Gone deep sea fishing
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person
50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris
51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling
52. Kissed in the rain
53. Played in the mud
54. Gone to a drive-in theater* (Well, I’ve never seen a movie at one. The town fair this year was held at our local drive-in, though.)
55. Been in a movie. (My voice was, ever-so-briefly, in a dubbed version of something obscure and French.)
56. Visited the Great Wall of China**
57. Started a business* (I kind of have. I’ve done some selling of crafts, but never officially started a business.)
58. Taken a martial arts class
59. Visited Russia**
60. Served at a soup kitchen*
61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies
62. Gone whale watching* (I have seen dolphins in the wild, though!)
63. Got flowers for no reason
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma*
65. Gone sky diving* (Well, I used to want to do this. I don’t feel as strongly about it anymore.)
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp
67. Bounced a cheque (Woohoo! I’ve never bungee jumped, but I have bounced a check!)
68. Flown in a helicopter* (Apparently I did in utero.)
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy (Just one?)
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial
71. Eaten Caviar
72. Pieced a quilt*
73. Stood in Times Square
74. Toured the Everglades*
75. Been fired from a job (I did get more or less laid off when a store closed.)
76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London
77. Broken a bone (Nope. Not even someone else’s.)
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle
79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person
80. Published a book* (Well, I’m an editor of a couple of published proceedings volumes. Those are books.)
81. Visited the Vatican
82. Bought a brand new car
83. Walked in Jerusalem
84. Had my picture in the newspaper
85. Read the entire Bible (I have read the words “the entire Bible.” Just now I even typed them.)
86. Visited the White House* (I haven’t been on the inside. I’ve been outside on the street. I think.)
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating
88. Had chickenpox
89. Saved someone’s life
90. Sat on a jury*
91. Met someone famous (I once served breakfast to olympic medalist Kristi Yamaguchi when I was a waitress, though.)
92. Joined a book club (Led one, even.)
93. Lost a loved one
94. Had a baby
95. Seen the Alamo in person (I can’t remember…)
96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake
97. Been involved in a law suit
98. Owned a cell phone
99. Been stung by a bee
100. Rode an elephant* (Huh. I don’t remember ever doing this. But Phoebe has, and she’s only 2. And she could only check off one other thing on this list. If she could even read.)

Last time I got 56 out of 150, or 37%. This time I got 47 out of 100, giving (obviously) 47%. You’d think that I’ve been really busy this past year getting things accomplished, but none of the items are new. (Well, I did have a baby in the last year, but I’d done that before, too.)

Last time I did this, I also threatened to write more about some of the experiences listed. I even took requests. I’m still hoping to write about those things at some point.

If anyone wants stories for any of the above items, let me know. (“Alejna, tell me about the time you got stung by a bee! And did you really once bounce a check? Wow…”)

6 responses to “making my list, checking it twice

  1. Hey, thanks for finding that list from last year, which I think was a bit better than this year’s.

    I took 37 to mean being satisfied with the amount of money you had, not with life in general.

    So hey, tell us about the time you started a blog. ;)

  2. Oh, and maybe tell us about that time you owned a cell phone! I’ll bet there’s a whole story behind that one, eh?

    I like this list and how random it is. Clearly, I will have to do it myself!

  3. Wait! I hit ‘send’ too soon. I actually would like to hear about the karaoke singing and the time you had your picture in the paper.

  4. wait, does meeting famous authors count as meeting someone famous because if it does then you have done that as well.

  5. You’ve never been skinny dipping? I thought everyone went skinny dipping before they turned 30.

    BTW, this is a very American list.

    Also, I find it peculiar that Amish communities as treated as sight-seeing adventures. Ew.

  6. az-
    Perhaps last year’s list was a tad less US-centric. As for item 37, I can see that interpretation, but I still don’t like the wording. Something about “money” and “truly sastisfied” together in a sentence like that rubs me the wrong way. I’d probably be happier with “comfortable.”

    girlgriot-
    Oh, I hope you do the list. I’ll be interested to see what you’ve done! (And I’ll keep in mind to share my karaoke and newspaper stories some time soonish.)

    erica-
    Good point. I have certainly been face to face with a number of quite well known authors. But I don’t feel like I really “met” very many of them. Almost none of them would be likely to remember meeting me for example, since I mostly just asked them to sign their names. But I guess there are a couple that I would say I had enough contact with to say I’d met them.

    Mad-
    Nope, no skinny dipping for me. I’m not really a water person.
    And yeah, I noticed the bias towards US-based activities, too. I commented on it to az when she posted the list, as I was surprised that my “score” was higher than hers. (She’s Canadian, too.)

Leave a Reply

