Do you know the nipple song?


I made a discovery a few weeks ago that I’ve been meaning to share. And what with Sunday’s nipple-related post, I thougt now would be as good a time as any. This is a music video from India, which has been captioned/subtitled for English-speakers:

Apparently a new tradition has blossomed across the internets to add English subtitles to videos that are not translations of the lyrics, but what the non-English lyrics sound like to an English speaker. I somehow had missed this, even though it has clearly gone viral, judging from the over 9 million YouTube views on a video called “Crazy Indian Video” since it was posted just over a year ago:

I stumbled across this phenomenon when following a link from Ashley Awesome to an Indian video, which I found strangely compelling. Then I found that same video, “buffalaxed.” (Go see Tunak Tunak Tun for yourself!)

I admit it. These crack me up. Does this prove to the world that I am actually a 12-year-old masquerading as an adult?

11 responses to “Do you know the nipple song?

  1. First of all, I have to say that I love Bollywood (especially in four minute clips.)

    Then I have to say that “I need nipples.”

    Hilarious, thanks!

  2. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with being 12! (me, who has a new blog category ‘i am twelve’)

  3. Love this. The nipple song was actually filmed in Houston.. Far cry from Bollywood..then again, I was in the Kroger shopping the other day…maybe it isn’t.

    LK
    Houston

  4. Oh my! This is too funny. I had missed this bizarre little wacky-karaoke thing, too!

  5. Mark-
    Glad you enjoyed it. And really, don’t we all need nipples?

    KC-
    I hadn’t noticed your blog category! Cool! I’m glad to know that there are other 12-year-olds out there blogging along with me.

    Laurie Kendrick-
    I hadn’t realized it was Houston. It must be a good city for nipples. (And thanks for coming by!)

    flutter-
    You must be 12, too!

    girlgriot-
    You know, I haven’t even found anyone who’s seen these. But clearly lots of people have.

  6. Pingback: The Skwib · Bollywood is best!

  7. I’ve seen that before, but it’s still as funny as hell.

    And remember, you’re a linguist, not just a pretend 12 year old…

  8. bwah! fantastic videos – on par (if not better than) the “literal video” songs, of which i’ve seen a-ha, rick astley, and tears for fears (http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/6342db2270/head-over-heels-literal-video-version-from-dustfilms).

    you’ve probably seen ’em. you’ve probably even blogged ’em. i should probably check before i post this, but i’m not gonna.

  9. omg, the nipple song is the funniest thing i’ve seen in fo-evs. i’m wiping tears away right now.

  10. This is pretty old news, to me since I pretty much have it memorized now. I love this song. I find it funny, but I also just love the song and wonder what the original name of it is.. Does Sushmita Sen have an album?

Leave a Reply

