NaNaGaMo begins


In addition to NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), I’ve decided to participate in NaNaGaMo, National Navel-Gazing Month. Every day for the month of November, I will contemplate my navel, or perhaps someone else’s navel. In a pinch, I may stare at a navel orange.

On this theme, I’d like to highlight a word with you that I met in the past year or so, and which I’ve become quite fond of:
omphaloskepsis (noun)

literally, the contemplation of one’s navel, which is an idiom usually meaning complacent self-absorption (from dictionary.com)

I think it’s quite a good word. I try to use it whenever possible.

Phoebe at about 16 months promises to master the art of ompaholskepsis.Such a lovely belly button.
Phoebe, at 16 months, shows signs that she will be a master of the art of omphaloskepsis.

Actually, I was considering having each of my posts for the month of November feature a word that I like. (I mean, a different word that I like. Otherwise we could end up with a month of posts about pants.) (Well, that might happen anyhow.) We’ll see. I promise to, at the very least, use words in every post.

14 responses to “NaNaGaMo begins

  1. Who can resist the motherly call to zerber that belly?! I’m out of my mind with round belly baby zeal!!

  2. Ok, those Phoebe pics are too cute. The first time I went to Hungary, I met a guy who didn’t believe bellybutton was a real word. He kept saying it, really slowly (“Bel-l-l-y-bu-u-utt-o-n-n-n”) and then chuckling, as if I’d made some adorable child’s joke. Feh.

    I, for one, vote for a month of pants posts!

  3. This post and that word totally cracked me up!

  4. she is so cute, it hurts my teeth!!!

  5. I’ve been contemplating KayTar’s navel lately, what with the upcoming surgery and all. Is there a fancy word for that?

  6. Gonna do it too–use words. All month. Woo.

    What a cute navel. I’d *make* up a word for that, I think.

  7. I hope you’ll consider featuring the tufted titmouse in one of your November posts. Although it’s actually two words.

  8. Hee, hee. I’m doing the Namowrimo thing again, but only because I’m a masochist, and I never mastered the art of omphaloskepsis. (Great post.)

  9. words are good.

    those pictures of phoebe, of course, are even better :-) TOO CUTE!

  10. Those are precious pictures. Wow. I saw them, and I had to tickle the Little Mister’s tummy. :)

  11. Phoebe is soooo cute! I like the idea of each post having a favorite word too…

  12. She’s adorable! Where are you finding those words?, she asked, listening to the wind whistle through her brain.

  13. Pingback: bunny and carrot (and also a cat) « collecting tokens

  14. phoebe is weird. she might develope navel fetishism in the future.

Leave a Reply

