heart in my hands


figure12.png Happy Valentine’s Day. Or what’s left of it.¹ Well, today is a day most strongly associated with one symbol: the heart. Whether it’s heart-shaped boxes of cheap-ass waxy chocolate, chalky-tasting little candy hearts with messages, or the good old-fashioned construction paper heart cut-out, Valentine’s Day is an affair of the heart. Or at least the heart shape. Because let’s face it, the actual organ itself gets the short shrift. So this ThThTh list is for you, you hard-working, blood-pumping bundle-o-muscles.

A list for the Heart

  • The Tell-Tale Heart,” by Edgar Allen Poe. The sound of his victim’s beating heart haunts a murderer. (There’s a Simpsons episode that features a diarama of “The Tell-Tale Heart.” Someone out there has also made a Tell-Tale Heart scene Legos.)
  • Angel Heart (1987). This movie has a bit about someone eating a human heart.
  • The episode “Hush,” from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. This is the one where everyone loses their voice. The villains in this one steal people’s voices in order that they may accomplish their goal of collecting 7 human hearts without the inconvenience of screaming victims.
  • There’s also the famous scene from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984) in which a man rips the still-beating heart out of another man’s chest as part of a sacrificial ritual.
  • Aztec sacrifices: check out the Wiki bit (and do note the “[citation needed]” bit. I really have know idea whether this is true.)

    The Aztec civilization used the heart as a sacrificial token during the sacrifice of a human being. The priest used a stone knife to cut into the thoracic cavity and remove the heart, upon which it would be placed on a stone altar as an offering to the gods. The greatest sacrifice under the reign of Montezuma involved the removal of the hearts of over 12,000 enemy soldiers.[citation needed]

  • Las Dos Fridas (The Two Fridas): a painting by Friday Kahlo with two versions of the artist with heart exposed.(Go have a look.)
  • Looking for something to impress the cephalopodophile in your life? Consider one of the lovely tentacled-heart images of Ben Lawson. (ht to raincoaster and MasterCowfish.)
  • Still want to give your true love the semi-traditional gift of candy? Why not consider the gummy heart, or the one-pound solid milk chocolate human heart?
  • —————-

    ¹ Here it is, almost 11:00, and I’ve been meaning to toss up a list all day. My plan, you see, was to post something heart-related. John suggests that I should prioritize sleep over posting a list. Pah! I scoff at your well-reasoned suggestion. And anyhow, I’ve got most of the damn thing already outlined.

    image: The Project Gutenberg EBook of The Child’s Day, by Woods Hutchinson,

    13 responses to “heart in my hands

    1. Solid chocolate human heart? I mean, roasted human heart with mole sauce, sure, but solid chocolate would just be too rich.

    2. that Frieda portrait is one of my favs.

      is it weird that i’m humming along to an old Nirvana song right about now?

      Meat-Eating orchids forgive no one just yet.
      Cut myself on angel hair and baby’s breath.
      Broken hymen of your highness, I’m left black,
      Throw down your umbilical noose so I can climb right back…

      He was nothing if not cheery.

    3. Love the Tell Tale Heart. Will have to check out Ben Lawson for P1!

    4. i think that scene from indiana jones both scared me from life, and made me a skeptic. “That’s not where the heart is located!” I whispered into the dark theatre.

    5. How about music: Steve Earle’s CD El Corazon or the Los Lobos song “Corazon.”

      That Buffy episode rocks.

    6. I love me some Poe.

      And “Hush” is one of my favorite Buffy episodes.

    7. I love “Hush”. Sigh.

    8. Angel Heart was a good movie. Even Mickey Rourke was good back then

    9. raincoaster-
      Yes, solid chocolate would be a bit much. A mole sauce sounds much lighter.

      jen-
      I don’t think I’d actually identified those lyrics before.

      Julie-
      I’m quite fond of Poe.

      Painted-
      I’m not sure I ever saw the unedited scene. I only saw bits of the movie on TV years later. And then I watched an edited clip on YouTube. Didn’t quite make out the supposed heart location. But I’ll take your word that it’s not right.

      Mad-
      I’m afraid I don’t know those songs, but I’ll welcome to the list.

      dragonfly-
      I love me some Poe, too. And “Hush.”

      Ahsley-
      Yeah, a great episode.

      nursemyra-
      Hello! I’ve seen you over at azahar’s, I believe. Thanks for dropping in. And as for Angel Heart, that movie haunted me for quite some time after I’d seen it.

    10. yes, azahar only attracts quality visitors. not sure how archie snuck in but there you go :-)

    11. I don’t celebrate VD. I celebrate the day after: Cheap Chocolate Day.

    12. Pingback: a big, squishy heart for you | collecting tokens

    13. Pingback: tine’s happy day valen | collecting tokens

    Leave a Reply

    