The Call of the Pants


pants.pngBecause the world needs more things with pants, and because I promised to write more posts with pants, I bring you pants. Following the success of the great moments of pants cinema, and in the tradition of the legendary Star Wars pants list, I bring to you a list of literary pants classics.

Great Works of Classic Pants Literature.

  • All the King’s Pants, Robert Penn Warren
    A story of politics, pants, and politicians’ pants.
  • A Farewell to Pants, Ernest Hemingway
    Even pants don’t last forever.
  • The Return of the Pants, Thomas Hardy
    Laundry lost, laundry found.
  • The Pants and the Fury, William Faulkner
    A tale told by an idiot. Signifying pants.
  • A Tale of Two Pants, Charles Dickens
    They were worn, they were washed. It’s a short tale.
  • Around the World in Eighty Pants, Jules Verne
    About a man who did not know how to travel light.
  • Peter Pants, J. M. Barrie
    A whimsical, magical pants tale
  • The Canterbury Pants, Geoffrey Chaucer
    Tales of pilgrimages and pants.
  • The Pants of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas
    Justice. Vengence. Pants.
  • Little Pants, Louisa May Alcott
    The heartwarming saga of sisters and pants.
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Pants, L. Frank Baum
    A young girl and her companions embark on a quest for pants.
  • The Strange Pants of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, by Robert Louis Stevenson
    Two men share a pair of pants. It’s not pretty.
  • The Man in the Iron Pants, Alexandre Dumas
    That just can’t be comfortable.
  • Journey to the Center of the Pants, Jules Verne
    Discover the mysteries that lie deep within the pants.
  • A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Pants, by Mark Twain
    This story may not be suitable for children under age 13.
  • 17 responses to “The Call of the Pants

    1. lol…hilarious post!!!…My favorites..”Around the world in eighty pants” and “Peter Pants”!!!

    2. The Color Pants. One woman’s struggle to earn her way to her first independent pair of pants.

      i love it when you do this stuff, A.

    3. These crack me up. Reminds me a bit of a conversation thread on h2g2 where people changed the words ‘love’ or ‘heart’ in song titles to ‘knob’ (though I think your pants titles are much cleverer). I was surprised to see that it’s still going after five years – well, up to last July anyhow.

    4. this was FANTASTIC.

      How About:
      Pants of Grass by Walt Whitman
      Poetry about Sustainable Clothing

    5. crap. of course as soon as I hit “post” I realized I should have said “this was PANTastic”

    6. War and Pants?

      Love this post!

    7. Fabulous!!

      Have you read the Georgia Nicolson books? Dave the Laugh can fit “pants” into any situation. :)

    8. What a terrific idea, I love it!

      Peter Pants, indeed! Hehehe.

      :)

    9. Gaurav-
      Thanks! I’m glad I could share these pants with you.

      jen-
      Nice pants.

      az-
      I hadn’t seen the knob bit before. But it’s pretty funny. Even without pants.

      panted maypole-
      I love the Walt pants. (And your pantsy pun.)

      Nerevise-
      Tolstoy sure could have written a lot of words about pants.

      Dragonfly-
      I’m not familiar with those books, but perhaps I should be. Thanks for the pants tip.

      Jen-
      Sometimes I just run with the pants.

    10. How about?
      The curious incident of the pants in the nightime.

      Wuthering Pants

      The god of small pants

      The Satanic Pants

      ( that’s it for now. my brain can’t come up with clever enough plots yet. maybe later.)

    11. I’ve just found your blog, following a link from Azahar’s site and just nearly fell off my chair laughing at this pants post. Good thing I’m wearing loose pants, or they might have split!

    12. Oh and I should have added that this post is particularly funny if you’re British, because pants to us are not ‘trousers’ but the garment worn under trousers!

    13. erica lee-
      Lovely pants.

      truce-
      Oh, it’s nice to hear that I made you laugh. At whichever type of pants you prefer. (And thanks so much from stopping in!)

    14. Have you read The Lord of the Pants? It. Is. Hysterical.

      “Gondor has no pants. Gondor NEEDS no pants.”

    15. I have a male friend who wears both briefs and boxers, though I could not begin to speculate on whether this is simultaneously.

      His girlfriend teases him he is ‘bi-pantal’

    16. Pingback: 12 Classics of Pants Theater « collecting tokens

    17. Pingback: Welcome Back, Pants | collecting tokens

    Leave a Reply

    