turning into a pumpkin


pumpkinshoes.jpgI mentioned briefly that I’m going to be a bridesmaid in a wedding coming up soon. Well, that “soon” has now become “this Sunday.” Which is, technically, very soon. As is the standing tradition, in U.S. weddings at least, I will be wearing a dress chosen by the bride. As it will be an October wedding in New England, the bride has chosen fall colors. My dress is in burnt orange, a very pretty color, though a somewhat unusual one in my wardrobe. And is also often the case for such occasions, I am to have shoes that match my dress. This means that I have needed to get some dyed. I picked up my shoes yesterday afternoon. And I have to admit that I was quite startled to see them. You see, they are orange. I now have shiny orange shoes. I don’t think you can ever be fully prepared to see orange shoes.

Anyhow, this weekend I will be donning the orange, and perhaps as such, feeling a bit like a pumpkin. Hopefully an elegant pumpkin, mind you, but a pumpkin nonetheless. But seeing as it’s October, pumpkins are all the orange rage right now. And in honor of their orange pumpkiness, I bring you a pumpkin-based Themed Things Thursday.
pumpkin_pie.jpg

  • pumpkin
    A vegetable. Or a fruit. Depending on your choice of taxonomy. Generally eaten cooked. Used in lots of baked goods, like pumpkin pie.
  • Pumpkin (2002)
    A movie starring Christina Ricci.
  • Pumpkin
    A song by Tricky off Maxinquaye (YouTube video)
  • pumpkin_carriage.jpg

  • Cinderella’s carriage
    In many versions of this fairy tale, Cinderella’s fairy godmother turns a pumpkin into a carriage to carry Cinderella to the ball. Cinderella must leave the ball before her ride turns back into a pumpkin. Leading to the expression turn into a pumpkin, meaning depart, go to bed or otherwise turn in for the night.
  •             the_headless_horseman_pursuing_ichabod_crane.jpg

  • The Headless Horseman
    A ghostly character from Washington Irving’s story “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow“, who carries around a pumpkin head.
  • 200px-jackpumpkinheadpng.png

  • Jack Pumpkinhead
    A character from the Oz books by L. Frank Baum. Later had his own book, Jack Pumpkinhead of Oz, though it wasn’t by Baum.
  • Pumpkinhead (1989)
    A horror movie involving a demon dug up from a pumpkin patch.
  • The Ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead
    a song by XTC. (YouTube video) Later covered by Crash Test Dummies.
  • Peter Peter Pumpkin Eater
    A nursery rhyme. Also a song you can play on the piano using only the black keys.¹

    Peter Peter pumpkin eater
    Had a wife and couldn’t keep her
    He put her in a pumpkin shell
    And there he kept her very well

  • peter_peter_pumpkin_eater_1_-_ww_denslow_-_project_gutenberg_etext_18546.jpg       great_pumpkin.jpg      nightmare_before_christmas_poster.jpg

  • The Great Pumpkin
    A mythical holiday character that never appears in the animated Peanuts special It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (1966)
  • Jack, the Pumpkin King
    A character from Tim Burton’s animated movie The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993).
  • pumpkin_porch.jpg

  • jack-o-lanterns
    It’s a Halloween tradition to carve a face into a pumpkin. These are then typically set outside, with a candle inside. It’s also a Halloween tradition for mischievous kids to steal other people’s pumpkins, and smash them.
  • Smashing Pumpkins.
    A band. Performs songs such as “Tonight, tonight” and “Tarantula” (YouTube videos)
  • punkin
    An endearment or nickname based on the word pumpkin, which is sometimes pronounced without the word-medial [p]. Gives us [pʰʌŋkɪn] (Where the nasal has then assimilated to the place of articulation of the following consonant, a velar. Not that you asked.)
  • phoebe_cat_pumpkin.jpg

    ¹ I admit that I’m recycling this particular item from my vegetable ThThTh list. But recycling is good, right? Or should I be composting, since it’s vegetables we’re talking about?

    15 responses to “turning into a pumpkin

    1. That was far from compost. Repurposing maybe.

    2. will you be posting pictures of the elegant pumpkin dress? Hope the wedding is Smashing! (oh! I kill myself!)

    3. maggie-
      reduce, re-use, repost!

      painted-
      Ha ha! I may have to use that smashing joke. Especially if I get smashed at the wedding.

    4. I think making you dye those shoes orange is just plain cruel. Like you’ll ever wear them again. It should be a sin, I tell you.

    5. oh, i love the orange shoes! they are really more of a pumpkin color, but still lovely…

    6. but pumpkin pie and lil’ punkins are also favorites ;)

    7. The pumpkin coloured shoes are very striking! I’m sure you will be an elegant pumpkin … not two words normally adjacent to one another, but here’s hoping, right? ;-)

    8. Wow. The pumpkins are great but the shoes are….special.

    9. Oh, no! There’s a pumpkin on my blog!

    10. KC-
      Well, perhaps it’s cruel. But I’m told I can re-dye them black. Which I may do. Or perhaps I will learn to purchase more formal wear in orange so as to be able to wear them more.

      maja-
      They are kinda pretty, in a quirky way. The color has actually grown on me.

      mimi-
      They are striking shoes, aren’t they? And I did refrain from striking anyone with them.

      Patient-
      Yes, special. I always take that as compliment. Gosh darnit, I am special, too.

      jwbates-
      Look out!

    11. Pingback: my head is stuffed full of cotton wool « collecting tokens

    12. Ichabod Crane

      Uma Lenda
      imortal
      que vai viver
      nas ruas
      nas arvores
      e na mente
      do vento frio
      do dia das bruxas.

      fred albano
      jacarei sp
      Brasil

    13. viva o folclore do mundo

    14. I love your orange shoes (and I’m a man!)

    15. How do you find so much to say about pumpkins? You must be an encyclopedia!

    Leave a Reply

    