marginal progress


The temperatures got quite warm yesterday afternoon, thankfully, and much of the snow on our driveway melted. When I checked for the crocuses again today, they were bravely poking up through the snow.

Crocuses at 8:30 a.m. 3 spikes have poked out of the snow. (Actually, there are more spikes off camera.)

As for me, I confess that today I’m feeling snowed under (though it’s not the snow that’s doing it). I ran up against a wall with an experiment I’m designing (which is not actually about running up against walls), and then decided to switch gears and work on a different work project (which is not about gears, or switching them). Only to find that I’d managed not to save the file I’d worked on the last time I worked on the project. And another file for a different project to boot. (There were no boots.) I spent a fair amount of time hunting for the files, before determining that I had to retrace my steps. (Though there was no actual stepping). I spent a fair amount of time swearing at myself. (You can bet that there was actual swearing.)

It did not feel like a productive day.

On the bright side, the crocuses are making some progress.

Crocuses at 5:30 p.m., from a slightly different angle. You can see a 4th purple spike just emerging in the middle of the 3.

4 responses to “marginal progress

  1. I like seeing the crocuses peaking up through the snow. Love how you wrote this post. You may not be making progress with your projects, but you have made me smile this morning– first with the flowers and then with your words. Hope that today goes better for you.

  2. Blech to all of it. Even the crocuses, which shouldn’t be cloaked in snow (says the Southern Grrrl).

  3. Hang in there. Progress is often imperceptible! And those crocuses are pretty inspiring.

  4. Pingback: Spring renewal | collecting tokens

Leave a Reply

