wood (friday foto finder)


This week’s friday foto finder¹ theme is “wood.” Having just posted some photos of a door, and given the theme of wood, my brain connected the two by remembering the remarkable woodwork, on the doors and elsewhere in the building, in the Casa Battló in Barcelona, Spain. This remarkable house was designed by Gaudí, and contains very few straight lines. My camera and I visited it (along with other members of my family) in September, 2009. (I even posted another photo of it way back when.)


A detail from one of the doors.


A beautifully carved wooden door.


A slightly more utilitarian-looking door, but still strikingly curvy and carvy.


Another carved wood detail of…something. Possibly a door. Maybe just a wall. But it’s pretty.


Another detail from something. Might be a doorway. I love the undulating border.

¹ Yes, I realize it is still Thursday, but I have my reasons.

8 responses to “wood (friday foto finder)

  1. oooh! Yes! I love Casa Batlló! It’s probably my second-favorite building on earth (after Rome’s Pantheon, which I love for totally different reasons). And the wooden doors are one of my favorite parts! I especially love the spirally bit in that last photo. And above the doors in the second photo. Though those doors themselves are pretty amazing. Actually, I don’t think I can narrow it down. I love them all.

  2. I’ve never heard of this building before. I love curves and swirls and such. Great photos. Fascinating doors.

  3. Lovely photos, Alejna!
    If you like photography, we’d like to invite you to participate in our next Travel Photography Competition. Here are the details:

    http://hitchhikershandbook.com/your-contributions/travel-photography/

    Happy travels!

  4. that is really beautiful. I love nearly everything Gaudi did.

  5. Casa Batlló was the highlight of my trip to Barcelona. These are gorgeous shots.

    My bit of local wood is here…

    http://azahar.me/2012/11/16/friday-foto-finder-wood/

  6. Oh my God! I love these!

  7. Pingback: I actually miss posting every day. | collecting tokens

Leave a Reply

