blue state blues


I’m feeling blue today.

Massachusetts held its special election yesterday to fill the seat that had been held for decades by Senator Ted Kennedy.

I did not like the results.

Massachusetts is considered by many to be a liberal stronghold. What has come to be known as a blue state. I like it that way. I like it that we allow same sex marriage. I like it that there have been reforms to the health care system in our state, and that measures have been taken here to ensure that everyone has access to health insurance. Legislation and voting in this state often reflects progressive values. In case you hadn’t guessed, those are my values.

Now my state has elected a senator whose values greatly diverge from my own. As Keith Olberman put it:

In short, in Scott Brown we have an irresponsible, homophobic, racist, reactionary, ex-nude model, teabagging supporter of violence against women and against politicians with whom he disagrees. In any other time in our history, this man would have been laughed off the stage as an unqualified and a disaster in the making by the most conservative of conservatives.

And you know what? I’m not just blue. I’m angry.

13 responses to “blue state blues

  1. I’m angry, too.

    (Love the photo, btw.)

  2. I heard an interview on CBC radio up here in Canada today with an American political analyst saying how the election was a rejection of Obama’s “radical reforms” like health insurance. As a Canadian, it’s so weird to hear people refer to health insurance as “radical.” It’s been working well here and in many other countries for a long, long time.

    I’d be bummed if I were you, too.

  3. Yeah, blue and angry, and it affects every last one of us. Damn.

  4. I was pissed for a few hours, but you know what? I think this will scare others who are considering a mid-term protest by voting against Dems.

    Better to shine a light on one cockroach now, than…well, you get the point.

  5. That’s some scary shit.

  6. Thank you. I’ve been walking around angry about a bunch of things for days and yesterday’s vote made me so sad and really pissed me off. You said it so well.

  7. I am so upset and angry about this too. What especially pissed me off was a comment cited in an article (sorry, I don’t remember where I read it) from a guy basically saying he’d voted for Obama because he wanted change, and he didn’t think things were changing fast enough, so he voted for Brown. Um… how does that make sense? Obama wasn’t changing things fast enough, so he voted for someone who will obstruct every change Obama tries to make, and who would’ve supported everything the previous administration did?!

  8. too much to say on this. a number of kennedys are rolling in their graves over this one.

  9. Lovely blue shot. Unlovely election result. Like the other Canadian quoted above, I cannot figure out why there is such feeling against comprehensive health care. Yeah, it costs. Yeah, it’s not perfect. But people, somehow, get the care they need and if they need it badly they get it fast. If, like me, you have a funny lump on your knee, you wait up to 4 months for diagnostic imaging to confirm the doctor’s opinion that it is a benign cyst. If your doctor thinks it might be serious, you wait maybe 4 hours.
    Republicans confuse me totally. I would trade our PM for your President in one second flat.

  10. I was in Cambridge when this happened. I will forever remember the day when MA turned Red, for just one term. I am convinced that this guy and the others will only be here for one term. A dear dear friend of mine who is also in Cambridge said this on her Facebook, and I feel compelled to share her extremely well-put statement: “It’s unfortunate that the country gave Bush & Cheney eight years to flush the economy and healthcare down the toilet, not to mention billions of $ and thousands of lives lost in the Middle East, yet won’t give Obama even a year to get things on the right track. Sadly, you can’t turn the Titanic on a dime.” We still have 59 seats. We can still make things happen!

  11. Sadly, the Dems are their own worst enemies. They ran a vanilla candidate in this election, one who just couldn’t seem to say the right things. Also, it was insane for the Dems to think the state would stay blue and wait until the 11th hour to “fix” things. Geez. The outcome in your state is just the beginning, I fear.

  12. Pingback: signs of the times | collecting tokens

Leave a Reply

