No, not really.


Okay, so I’m not on Twitter. I was kidding with that last post. Ha! The joke was on you.

But more people took me seriously than I expected, so I guess the joke is on me.

The fact that several people took me seriously could mean that:

    a) My faux tweets were convincing.¹
    b) People did not actually read them.
    c) People who Twitter are used to filtering out the sort of decontextualized response that I put up in “reply” to my imaginary friends.

The even bigger joke is that having made this joke, I’ve come terribly close to actually signing up for an account.²

The truth is, though, I really can’t afford another online timesuck. I’ve been so tempted, with various friends seeming to all be playing together off in Twitterland. So I stop by people’s Twitter pages.

Then I feel like I’ve stepped into a cocktail party full of people continuing a variety of conversations that I can’t quite follow. And I can’t even get a drink or find the cheese platter. My head spins around a bit, and then I leave.

Anyhow, my Tweetybird friends, I’m afraid I can’t come out to play with you now. But if I do, I promise that I will take every opportunity to write about ceiling tiles.

—-
¹ But come on! I talked about cupcakes with exploding olives! I crack myself up!
² But I haven’t.³
³ Or have I?

6 responses to “No, not really.

  1. I’m trying to spend less time online, so I’ll never understand it, at least in the context that I would use it now, as an extension of blogging. It would hold more appeal if I were getting paid to sit at a desk.

  2. Does anyone actually take Twitter seriously? Thus far, know no one who really has taken a major liking to Twitter… unlike with Facebook which I’m still resisting despite having several friends try to get me on to it.

  3. I feel just like that about Twitter. No time to Twit but I wistfully read other people’s feeds and wish I were there.
    And, yes, you got me and yes, it was funny as hell.

  4. Wait, cupcakes don’t have olives?

  5. Twitter is lovely. You just THINK you don’t have time for another online timesuck, but you do.

  6. Hey- my ghost started a twitter account but she’s never tweeted. And, I’m pretty sure never will. I’m with you on the time suck: it’s either career promotion or Twitter. Maybe I’m a fool but I’m picking the former. Hopefully. One day. If I don’t start twittering.

Leave a Reply

