I’ve never been happier to retire a piece of clothing


“Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we.”
George W. Bush, August 5, 2004

In less than 12 hours, an article of clothing in our household will become instantly outmoded.

I’m talking about you, little “I already know more than the president” onesie. Yes, Phoebe wore you proudly, back when she was small enough. And sure, you would still fit Theo, size-wise. But your message, so sadly and humorously apt for far too long, will no longer be appropriate. And that deserves a celebration of extraordinary magnitude.

To send off this once-stylish article of clothing in style, I thought I’d post a few pictures from a photo shoot it had with Phoebe, back in 2006.

Photographer: Hi, Phoebe.
Phoebe: Oh, hi.

img_2105

Photographer: Hey, Phoebe, what’s that you’re wearing?
Phoebe: You mean this?

img_2106

Photographer: You look fabulous, dahling. Now, strike a pose.

img_2108

Photographer: Work it baby, work it. Now show me the pout.

img_2109

Photographer: Oh, yeah, baby. Yeah.
Phoebe: Can we stop this now? I’d like my lunch.
Photographer: Okay, okay. But first, tell me. Will you be happy to see a new president in office?
img_2101

Phoebe: You know it!
Photographer: Oh, yeah. Anything you’d like to say to the President as he takes his leave?

img_2111
Phoebe: Buh-bye.

img_2103
Phoebe: And don’t let the door hit you on the a…
Photographer: Phoebe!

This post is also doing double duty as a Monday Mission post. The assignment for this week was to post a series of photos with accompanying dialog, inspired by such posts from Wherever Ewe Go.

And by the way, anyone have any suggestions about what to do with this onesie?

16 responses to “I’ve never been happier to retire a piece of clothing

  1. hysterical!!!

    Hopefully there will never be need of it again… but if you’re really feeling generous give it to some Republican friends who perhaps feel the same way.

  2. She is so cute! I love the onesie, but have no ideas as to what to do with it. I’d probably save it or something.

  3. Mah-velous.

    You could send it to Bristol Palin. (Thank God, we never came that close!)

  4. This is just perfect! Love it.
    The Onesie? Shoe rag.

  5. You could burn it? This is adorable by the way, but I think you knew that :)

  6. Our old onesies became rags, but my SIL makes diaper covers out of everything, so there’s that.

    (P.S. I want to bite on those big cheeks!)

  7. Love it. I’d keep the onesie for posterity. Lest we forget and all that…

  8. cute, cute, cute post. and hooray!

  9. Awesome set of photos – and, yes, keep the onesie for posterity.

    I myself have an “Impeach Reagan” t-shirt that I wear from time to time.

  10. I LOVE this… so adorable!

    And I wish I had had that onesie over the last few years… I suggest you put it away as a souvenir…

  11. Very cute :)

    Just save it for now. I’m making a T-shirt blanket out of stuff from my past. That kind of thing would be good!

  12. I like that we both chose to use the phrase “don’t let the door hit your “butt” on the way out” to describe today without even knowing it (it was my FB status earlier today).

    And what a great onesie, I wonder who the super witty intelligent clever person who gave it to you was..

  13. That onesie is cool! I’m not American, or really connected to the country in any particular way, and even I felt strangely proud when Obama was voted in – our general elections were held the same week and had way less excitement about them purely because of the US elections. Here in NZ for the last few years it’s been sort of like ‘who let Bush in?’ and now everyone’s like ‘ohmigosh isn’t it great that they voted Obama in?’. Unfortunately my own compatriots have now landed us with a conservative government for the next three years!

  14. My God, those cheeks KILL me! What a doll. A brilliant doll.

  15. Another child says don’t let the door hit you… :-)

Leave a Reply

