Fork, spoon, or other?


As so often happens after I post a list, I was struck by an omission. I left a spoon off yesterday’s utensil list. A big spoon:

spoonbridge_and_cherry
Claes Oldenburg‘s Spoonbridge with Cherry sculpture, in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

It occured to me that where there is a spoon, there is likely also a fork. And sure enough, there exists at least one giant fork:
giant_fork
A giant fork sculpture by Jean-Pierre Zaugg and Georges Favre, stuck into Lake Leman in front of the Alimentarium (the Food Museum) in Vevey, Switzerland.

In case you would like a few more utensil-related tidbits to stick your fork into, I offer up a quiz. (First seen at raincoaster.)


You Are Chopsticks


People see you as exotic, unusual, and even a bit intimidating.
You are a difficult person to figure out.

In truth, you try to live a very simple life.
But most people are too frenzied to recognize the beauty of your simplicity.

(It would appear that I am actually two utensils, as chopsticks are generally not a single item. I suppose if I came up as a single chopstick it would mean that I am a rather dull instrument, largely useless except for clumsy poking and stabbing.)

photo credits: fork by µµ, and spoon by Mulad.

12 responses to “Fork, spoon, or other?

  1. Apparently, I’m a fork, piercingly honest. Hmm.

  2. I love the spoon sculpture! Got to see it this past summer when I went to visit my brother in Minneapolis. I’d love to see the big fork too. :)

  3. Amazing — the fork sculpture especially! As for your being chopsticks: hmmmm… I guess that means that you should visit Hong Kong because you’d be at home here? ;b

  4. I am a knife, precise and determined, but controversial and divisive.

    We have a giant fork in the road here too, but amazingly Google images and the website of the store in question don’t have any pictures. I will definitely stop next time I am down that way and take a picture to email to you.

  5. I suppose you could hold your chopstick in one hand while you clapped with the other.

    I love those sculptures! Especially the fork.

  6. Vevey is where Nestlé is.

  7. Pingback: metal « collecting tokens

  8. I am a fork.

    I love these sculptures!

  9. Pingback: runs with spoons « collecting tokens

  10. I fit in quite nicely with your spoon theme as I am a spoon.

  11. Hey, I’m chopsticks, too …

Leave a Reply

