setting the table


Today is Thanksgiving Day in the United States, a holiday marked by primarily by sitting around a table and eating. In honor of the day, I’ll set the table for you.

This ThThTh list features utensils. Actually, just forks and spoons. I’ll keep the knives stored safely away for another day. Likewise, I will avoid the hazards of the spork.
spoon_psf

A collection of spoons (and forks)

  1. Spoon!: The battlecry of The Tick.
  2. spooning: a position for cuddling.
  3. born with a silver spoon in one’s mouth: an expression said of one who is born into a wealthy family.
  4. Silver Spoons (1982-1987) A TV show about a rich kid and his father. (Did anyone else remember that the show had regular appearances from Jason Bateman as a kid?)
  5. Can you hang a spoon from the tip of your nose?
  6. gag me with a spoon: an 80s Valspeak exclamation used to express contempt and/or disgust.
  7. A Spoonful of Sugar: a song from the movie Mary Poppins.
  8. Hey Diddle Diddle: A nursery rhyme in which a dish rus away with a spoon:

    Hey diddle diddle,
    The cat and the fiddle,
    The cow jumped over the moon.
    The little dog laughed to see such fun,
    And the dish ran away with the spoon.

  9. And the Dish Ran Away With the Spoon: a picture book by Janet Stevens.
  10. 696px-heydiddle and_the_dish

  11. “There is no spoon”: a line from The Matrix, and a reference to this spoon-bending scene:
  12. fork in the road: a type of intersection.
  13. The Dirty Fork Sketch, from Monty Python:
  • The Blue Rajah: a character played by Hank Azaria in Mystery Men (1999). A superhero who throws forks (and fork-filled dialog):

    • An effete British superhero, to be precise. I am pilfering your tableware because I hurl it. I hurl it with a deadly accuracy. The Blue Raja is my name. And yes, I know I don’t wear much blue and I speak in a British accent, but if you know your history it really does make perfect sense…The point is: Your boy’s a Limey fork-flinger, Mother.
    • I say, what the fork! Let’s do it!
    • May the forks be with us.

  • So there’s my list. Stick a fork in me, I’m done.
    800px-fork6233

    If you’re looking for more tasty bits to gobble up once your t(of)urkey is gone, go stick your fork into the 107th Carnival of Satire over at The Skwib. A spoonful of satire makes the holiday angst go down! (Especially when taken with a Wild Turkey chaser.)

    13 responses to “setting the table

    1. That’s tine work!

    2. He stole my line, the rotter! Guess I’ll just have to be bowled over.

    3. yes, I can hang a spoon from my nose, thanks for asking.

      and that fork picture at the end? that’s the style of silverware we had growing up.

    4. The Dirty Fork Sketch is one of my favourites! :)

    5. I loved The Blue Rajah–he’s my favourite super hero.

    6. See, this is why I love you. The Tick, The Blue Rajah (when we saw that in the theater, EVERYONE went “Oooooh” when his mom gave him the silver), and There Is No Spoon. Although we usually say the latter when I’m out of clean utensils, and I ask him where they are. “There is no spoon” usually earns him a sponge to the head. Happy turkey day.

    7. “I always eat my peas with honey;
      I’ve done it all my life.
      They do taste kind of funny but
      It keeps them on my knife.”

    8. My nose, strangely, is too pointy and straight for spoon-hanging. Although Munchkin quite successfully hung a doorknob-hanger set of jingle-bells from it last night. Yowza.

    9. Pingback: Fork, spoon, or other? « collecting tokens

    10. Pingback: metal « collecting tokens

    11. Pingback: the cutting edge « collecting tokens

    12. Pingback: breaking bread « collecting tokens

    13. Pingback: One potato, two potato. | collecting tokens

    Leave a Reply

    