You may have already won!


To: United States of America
Northern Hemisphere, Planet Earth
#3 Solar System Way

From: President’s Clearing House, Awards Division

Dear Occupant,

CONGRATULATIONS!! You are a winner! You may have ALREADY WON these fabulous VALUABLE PRIZES:

* Front-row TICKETS to a history-changing event!
* The keys to a SHINY NEW optimism!
* A SPACIOUS and expansive outlook!
* Restored dignity and respect from EXCITING destinations around the globe!

In addition, you may soon qualify for GRAND PRIZES including:
* Improved access to health care and education for you and your family and many more!
* Exciting new alternative energy resources!
* Diminution of poverty!
* Diplomacy!
* And much, much MORE!

In order to CASH IN on these amazing prizes, you must ACT NOW, or the opportunity will pass you by. In order to redeem yourselves, you must continue the momentum for change.

Sincerely,
The Awards Division

Disclaimer: You need not subscribe to this idealism in order to benefit.

———-

This post was brought to you by this week’s Monday Mission, hosted by Painted Maypole, which offers FABULOUS PRIZES for posts written in the style of a “congratulations, you’ve just won” letter.

Seriously, though, this election has had me so excited that I feel like I’ve won the lottery. I have been alternately giddy and moved to tears. At the same time, I know that Obama’s election is a step in the right direction, not the final destination. (A breathtakingly huge step, mind you.) I am eager to see what’s going to happen. And I want to figure out what I can do to help bring about the changes that I believe are possible.

11 responses to “You may have already won!

  1. you must have just posted this, as this one didn’t show up in my reader, and here it was when I clicked over.

    brilliant as usual, particularly this phrase : “redeem yourselves”

    And yes… I feel like I have truly won a prize… but not just me. ALL of us. And I couldn’t be happier.

  2. cheers from the crowd.

  3. I love this! I too am very excited and was even more so listening to NPR yesterday and all the people calling talking about the things they were doing to get involved. This is how change starts!

  4. Oh, well done! This is great!

  5. You are always so clever!

  6. love the disclaimer..

  7. I’d like to be optimistic, but the Democrats aren’t much better at Trade issues with Canada. We can only hope.

  8. So fabulous! I, too, am feeling like the sweepstakes winner over here. I’m crying less and grinning more after almost two weeks, but still walking just as tall, feeling just as giddy!

  9. Pingback: NaBloPoMoPoMo « collecting tokens

Leave a Reply

