nutty as a fruitcake, happy as a clam


I’ve been keeping something under my hat. I’ve been going on lately about how I have a lot on my plate, crabbing that I have may have bitten off more than I can chew. Sometimes I run around like a chicken with its head cut off. And then I’ve also been feeling pretty under the weather, with my head in a fog half the time. But that’s the way the cookie crumbles. And as things stand, come hell or high water, I’m about to open up a whole new can of worms.

I can certainly be one to beat around the bush, and you may well wish I’d just let the cat out of the bag and talk turkey. I mean, here I am, dragging things out at a snail’s pace, as slow as molasses in January. I could just sit around and chew the fat till the cows come home. But I suppose I should just come clean, take the bull by the horns, and spill the beans. So here’s the dirt, in a nutshell: I’ve got a bun in the oven.

32 responses to “nutty as a fruitcake, happy as a clam

  1. wow, *huge* congratulations are in order! bigger than dallas, even!

  2. Congratulations!

    I do hope this is not contagious.

  3. Cool beans! Congratulations!! (and, hey, if it is contagious, can I come sit next to you?)

  4. Congratulations – I am so very happy for you! I am impressed at your ability to keep blogging, and remain witty and intelligent at that. (Maybe I’m the only one who pregnancy has rendered somewhat illiterate…should that be whom?)

  5. I’m pleased as punch!

  6. Oh! Congrats to you!

  7. Royal pink and blue fancy pants!

  8. CONGRATULATION ! Boy I’m so so so happy for you !

  9. I’m happier than a pig in mud for ya! That’s the bee’s knees!

    Will you be finding out if the little peanut has a cheeseburger or a hot dog?

  10. Hooray! Welcome back to the pregnancy club! I’m going to assume this post intentionally made us other pregnant mamas need to comment, then immediately go find a crabcake despite the fact that it’s 9am.

  11. CONGRATS!!
    (And nice cliche writing!)

  12. Yeah! Another iron in the fire!

    Congratulations.

  13. Congrats!

  14. I’m tickled pink for you!

  15. Everything’s coming up daisies for you! Happy news! :-)

  16. That is FANTASTIC!!! Congratulations!!!

    And I loved all the cliches.

  17. You’re calling it Euphemistic Language (Last Name), I assume.

  18. Wow!! Many, many congratulations!!!

    :)

  19. Woot! That is excellent news! Best wishes for a happy, healthy pregnancy!

  20. congratulations! and have you ever listened to John Prine’s “It’s a Big Old Goofy World”? cause i think you’d enjoy it…. simile wise…

  21. Yay!!! You finally came clean! And you announced it with the usual Alejna wit.

    Congratulations, Alejna. A deep, heart-felt congratulations.

  22. Pingback: the well of idioms may be about to run dry « collecting tokens

  23. CONGRATULATIONS!

    (and hysterical post)

  24. Pingback: all my eggs in one basket « collecting tokens

  25. Congratulations! You should name it Ashley! (Or not.)

  26. Congratulations!!!!

  27. ¡Enhorabuena! Wonderful news, alejna. And quite a surprise ending to a very funny post.

  28. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news!

Leave a Reply

