support


Even though I had some things in mind, I’m really too tired to post much of anything creative. I’ve been staying up too late again, and perhaps pushing myself a bit hard. And I have some more work I’ve committed to doing tonight, if I can manage to keep my eyes open.

But I’ve been wanting to say some thank yous.

I really appreciate all the comments that people have left recently, especially on the posts where I have been writing about my grief. People have offered wise advice and shoulders to cry on, and I have been very touched by the sympathy and empathy. I have wanted to respond to each comment, but I have been feeling emotionally drained. I may yet manage to reply, but if I don’t, please know that I have read and valued those comments.

And for others of you who have read and thought sympathetic thoughts, I thank you, too.

I have also been very fortunate to have support from other friends and my family. I’m someone who likes to feel like I’m there to help others in times of need, and it’s been very heartwarming to know that people are there for me, too. I sometimes stubbornly like to think of myself as self-sufficient, but I know that my strength comes in large part from the support of those who care about me.

As you might expect, I am still working through my grief. But it has been very comforting to me to know that I don’t need to work through this alone.

3 responses to “support

  1. This is what is so beautiful about the blogosphere. You can have such lovely support and we’re totally OK with you not thanking us each individually :)

    Thinking of you.

  2. I’m sorry that I haven’t been more present– I have been reading and sympathizing, but feeling pretty short of words and distracted myself. I can tell from your posts that you loved your friend dearly, and that her life had meaning to you and many, despite its being so sadly cut short.

  3. Emily-
    Ah, thank you again.

    BLC-
    I appreciate it that you’ve been reading. I often have trouble find words to leave in comments, myself, so I don’t expect others to always have words ready. Thank you for giving me some words here, and thank you for your sympathy.

Leave a Reply

